KNITTERS IN THE ROUND: PUSSY(C)HAT

Knitters in the Round: Pussy(C)hat / Hosted by Pom Pom Quarterly

With the massive success of the Pussy Hat Project that saw over a million hats in shades of pink being knitted, crocheted, and sewn across the globe for the Women’s Marches of 21 January, many mainstream news outlets have weighed in with commentary on our creations, approach, and community. In less than three months, a soft, warming, handmade hat has become the symbol of a much larger resistance movement. But how has the Pussy Hat phenomenon impacted us personally; as makers, as proprietors of independent businesses, and as a global craft network?

Pom Pom is bringing together a panel of opinionated women on the front lines of knitting and craft to reflect on the triumphs of this incredible achievement, as well as discuss how we can build upon its success for future craftivism in 2017 and beyond.

You can tune in and send us questions for the panel live, and the discussion will be available to view indefinitely.

Presented by Pom Pom Quarterly & Hosted by Anna Maltz
Saturday March 4th 2017, 5 pm GMT / 12 pm EST / 11 am CST / 9 am PST
Tune in via YouTube Live

Live Online Panel Discussion Featuring:

Karida Collins – Owner, Neighborhood Fiber Co.; Baltimore
Sarah Corbett – Founder, Craftivist Collective; London/Global
Kat Coyle – Pussy Hat Designer and Owner, The Little Knittery; Los Angeles
Kay Gardiner – Mason Dixon Knitting; New York
Betsey Greer – Craftivist and Writer; North Carolina
Ysolda Teague – Knitting Designer; Edinburgh
Pamela Wynne Butler, PhD – Knitting Designer and Gender Studies Scholar; Michigan

, , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to KNITTERS IN THE ROUND: PUSSY(C)HAT

  1. Krys March 2, 2017 at 11:30 am #

    Hello will listen on sat. I am aware of Craftivist movement but had missed the hat thing how can I get involved now? I couldn’t see the pompon hat thing except that lots of people have made one I’d like to know more please wher do I look?
    Krys

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Readings – Wooly Witchy: Tarot, Wool, and Witchcraft - March 4, 2017

    […] An online discussion of the Pink Pussyhat thing is happening. […]

Leave a Reply

Copyright Pom Pom Publishing Ltd 2012-2016

BACK ISSUE SUMMER SALE!

 

POMFESTFOMOSLIDER